No Such Thing As Failure

Well, the better part of the first month of 2014 is closing in on itself. It’s been quite a month and we are only 22 days into the year. I have truly been networking and working on living the life I love living. That includes, of course, my study and application of nutrition and wellbeing. I am one of those who believe that if you are going to talk the talk, you better walk the walk.  I feel that I have always lived, with the best of intentions, a life that would allow me to feel good in my body. However, I have noticed that the measures I have taken have truly only allowed me to feel good for the time being.

Healing is never a one step process. There is no magical pill, diet, or program that can possibly FIX everything that is going on with you. Our physical health does not rely on food and fitness exclusively. Yet I too tend to fall prey to the latest ground breaking nutritional information only to find that yet it’s another program that in and of itself is ground breaking…..however, I am me and this diet/plan was not designed solely for me. So things need to be tweaked.

Earlier this month I embarked upon my experiment, if you will, with a Ketogenic Diet, which for the record, I happen to love. I have tweaked my diet ever so slightly. It wasn’t a dramatic change for me because I’ve been gluten free for years and have never really adhered to a high carb lifestyle. So the adjustments were not so earth shattering to me. Some of the benefits that I have experienced with my new style of eating and supplementation include longer periods of satiation due to the high amount of healthy fats I’m consuming, better sleep, more energy, weight stabilization (meaning not losing any weight which I am very prone to), consistency in my skin (although I am still not 100% there yet, improved mood, and the kicker for me is better bowel habits. I was one who had to team up with magnesium and aloe to keep my system going. The aloe has been completely eliminated and the the dose of magnesium goes lower and lower every week.

I believe that these past 3 weeks have taken a huge burden off of my digestive system with the diet being completely starch free. I have been MEGA-DOSING on over 300 billion units of bifido bacterium tagged with 20,000 mg of L-Glutamine a day to to help heal leaky gut. By healing the gut, everything else falls into place. The amount of fats that I am consuming is pushing the liver into a NATURAL state of detoxification which will ultimately improve bowel habits. 🙂 !!

I still have not completely rid myself of what would appear to be some sort of an allergy on my skin. And so I keep on trying to see what’s up with that. Hopefully in time that will work its way out as my gut continues to heal.  I have eliminated the make up that I was once using to see if that could be a potential trigger. We shall see. I have however, felt the need to change things up. I am not bored at all with the diet. Don’t get me wrong. I just am feeling that I am at the place where I can bring in a couple cycles a week of starch and see how I do with it. I will start off with some gluten and grain free pancakes which I’m totally excited about, as well as some sweet potato and kabocha squash. I plan on staying on plan 5 days a week and 2 days playing around a bit.

I think we all jump into a program feeling that this is the be all end all of nutrition not realizing that just like the Midwest homes, many of these diets are cookie cutter. They come in the form of books, websites, online coaching, etc. They are all wonderful in and of themselves, however, they are not customized for YOUR specific needs. And that gets frustrating. Because we rely on these “experts” to FIX us.

There is no such thing as being FIXED. Even when you have achieved your goal there will always be another goal to achieve. So by tweaking these programs and making them personal to you, you can have your perfect program. And it will change as you go along.The foods you once ate you may no longer be able to eat and you will see that as you heal, the foods that you were once not able to eat you will be able to eat in small portions or it may not be an issue for you at all. The supplements you once took may no longer serve you. So be aware of what you are spending your money on. Pay attention to the signs your body is giving you. Are you bloated, constipated, having diarrhea, headaches, fatigued, irritable?? Make adjustments as you go along.

Our bodies, like the Universe, are ever changing. It wouldn’t be much fun if we were always the same day in and day out. And so we need to change things, perhaps not daily, but as we move along in life. For me it actually comes in waves. I see it either in my skin, my digestion, and my sleep. We need to experiment little by little and find what works. And when it stops working or slows down a bit, make adjustments as we go along.

The most important thing to remember is that no doctor, coach, or other “expert/professional” knows what it feels like to live inside your body. And so even with all the amazing information out there, it is our responsibility to listen to the signs and symptoms our body is sending us.

I have worked with my body for almost 40 years. I think I know myself better than anyone does. And so I think it’s my resonsiblity to honor how it feels and listen to what it tells me. So this next week, starting today actually, will be the implementation of customization. We will see how it goes.

What diets, products, and programs have you implemented into your lifestyle that you have had success with after you tweaked it to your specific needs? That customization can make all the difference in the world.

To your health,
TLR

Image

3 thoughts on “No Such Thing As Failure

  1. Meriam Rosenberg says:

    Hi Sweetie,
    Tweaking is important, but so many people out there would not know the first thing to do, nor do they necessarily even know how or when to listen to their bodies. This is a very sophisticated matter, to feel well naturally or not, what to do and how to do it. That is why so many people prefer to have a health coach, someone that can be responsible for them feeling well. It is great for me to have your guidance, but I am one of those that likes to be an important part of my team in feeling well. I like the guidance from others but I also trust myself making adjustments and as you call it, “tweaking”, in the interest of my own health. At the same time, as a part of our well being, we absolutely must find the right workout plan and diet for us. We must not do things that will harm us like eating bad “fat”, doughnuts and crap like that, we can’t smoke, do drugs or harm ourselves in any other manner. Even with that in mind, some of us still have our challenges even when we do everything “right”. We also must invest in having a good common sense approach, stay as calm as possible and to strive to be our best friend, not our worst enemy. We all have that dark side and we have to keep it at bay, shove it back when its ugly head presents itself. And we should know when that happens and just live our lives with a great deal of “appreciation” for all that we have. In so doing, all that we want will come. Life is a huge gift, we should not mess with that gift, love it, embrace and embrace it. That give us the initiative to move forward in spite of all of our challenges, and maybe move forward because of all of our challenges. The only person that can stop us is us, I prefer not to allow let happen, and when it does it is only very short lived.

  2. Bob Morss says:

    Hi Tracy, I got into Maria’s Way and tried going ketogenic for about 10 days. Maria Emmerich is very impressive and I enjoyed her latest book. Keeping my carbs to such low levels (10-30 grams/day) is not something I would stay on long-term, but it was a fun experiment and I learned a few things. I will be going more this way, and doing some of Maria’s things and eating the great recipes. One great lesson was that eating low-carb, high-fat I just didn’t get hungry for a long time after eating. I really only wanted two meals a day, or even one sometimes. Very satisfying, and I think that accounts for how people get the big weight losses reported. I was thirsty a lot too and drank more water than usual. My skin cleared up somewhat. The only real negatives were that I didn’t have much energy and missed eating fruit snacks: apples, bananas, and oranges. Some very devoted and knowledgeable diet experts recommend no meat, high carbs, lots of fruit and veggies (vegetarians); others of the same cloth recommend high fat, medium protein, and very low carbs(Atkins, Paleo, ketogenic). Both have lots of successful, grateful followers. How can that be? I guess if you restrict certain things in the diet, it at least gives temporary relief from your current (sickly) state! I have come to the conclusion that food is just food; it feeds the bodygreat! Food has no power in and of itself, only what we give it or accept mentally. I eat a mixed diet, just what I like, trying not to overindulge in anything that makes me feel bad. I always enjoy your posts and keeping in touch with your life adventures, Tracy! All the best, Bob

    Date: Thu, 23 Jan 2014 13:45:31 +0000 To: bmorss@outlook.com

  3. Bob Morss says:

    Hi Tracy,

    I got into Maria’s Way and tried going ketogenic for about 10 days. Maria Emmerich is very impressive and I enjoyed her latest book. Keeping my carbs to such low levels (10-30 grams/day) is not something I would stay on long-term, but it was a fun experiment and I learned a few things. I will be going more this way, and doing some of Maria’s things and eating the great recipes. One great lesson was that eating low-carb, high-fat I just didn’t get hungry for a long time after eating. I really only wanted two meals a day, or even one sometimes. Very satisfying, and I think that accounts for how people get the big weight losses reported. I was thirsty a lot too and drank more water than usual. My skin cleared up somewhat. The only real negatives were that I didn’t have much energy and missed eating fruit snacks: apples, bananas, and oranges.

    Some very devoted and knowledgeable diet experts recommend no meat, high carbs, lots of fruit and veggies (vegetarians); others of the same cloth recommend high fat, medium protein, and very low carbs(Atkins, Paleo, ketogenic). Both have lots of successful, grateful followers. How can that be? I guess if you restrict certain things in the diet, it at least gives temporary relief from your current (sickly) state! I have come to the conclusion that food is just food; it feeds the body—great! Food has no power in and of itself, only what we give it or accept mentally. I eat a mixed diet, just what I like, trying not to overindulge in anything that makes me feel bad.

    I always enjoy your posts and keeping in touch with your life adventures, Tracy!

    All the best,

    Bob

Leave a Reply

