Mocha Maca Madness

Everyone needs a little chocolate in their day. Well, maybe not every day, but if you choose to, you can’t go wrong with some good old dark chocolate. The higher the percentage of cocoa, the higher the amount of antioxidant.

Recently I’ve been playing around with some different protein powders and have been really impressed with the new line I’ve encountered. Emerald Essentials was brought to my attention by a friend of mine who works with the line. I’ve been on the search for a high quality grass fed whey protein powder. Something that stands out from the rest. And I believe I’ve hit a bulls eye with this one.

Aside from the health benefits of whey, that being high in biocystein3 which helps to increase your glutathione levels in your body, this stuff is just hands down the best tasting protein powder I’ve ever experienced. The texture is perfect in a smoothie and it mixes really well into other concoctions as well, like your yogurt or oatmeal.

I love my smoothies right after a good workout and this blend has really kept me satisfied for several hours. Here’s a simple recipe that gives you a nice thick protein shake, seriously almost like ice cream, that’s loaded with complex (good) quality high carbohydrates, protein, fiber, and healthy fats.

Cheers!!

Ingredients:

1 cup Milk of Choice (I used the almond/coconut blend from Almond Breeze)
30 grams Emerald Essentials Chocolate Grass Fed Whey Protein Powder
20 grams Garden of Life Super Seed (you can use chia seeds, but this stuff really makes it nice and thick and creamy)
8 Grams Sunfood Nutrition Maca Powder
1 tsp fresh chopped ginger (feel free to use powder but use less)
1 tsp cinnamon
stevia to taste
10 ice cubes

Blend in your Blendtec/Vitamix/ or whatever blender you have until thick and creamy.

Ahhhhh!!! Wasn’t that yummy!!  Thought you’d say so…….!!!

I like to have this shake right after I exercise so that the high amount of carbs get stored in my muscle tissue rather than my tush tissue! But feel free to indulge whenever you prefer.

Nutritional Information:

Calories     338
Carbs.          45
Fiber            13
Fat                11
Protein        26

Image

Leave a Reply

