It’s A Lifestyle, Dammit!!

I almost laugh daily when I get on Facebook in the morning, visit a friend’s page or another fitness related page, and the first thing I see is a post or picture of a gal dripping sweat, doing cross-fit, and shouting out that “It’s A LIfestyle.”

Of course it’s a lifestyle. And it should be. If you want to look and feel your best, you’ve got to invest your time and energy into it. For many people, health and fitness is their second job. They invest a tremendous amount of time and energy into their workouts and their clean eating lifestyles. I am one of those people as well. I love to eat healthy food. I have even been known to take it to the extreme here and there. I love to workout hard and when appropriate, push my body to its limit. It’s my body. I’ll do with it as I see fit.

What’s interesting to me is the criticism that people receive from their families, friends, and others in regards to what they are doing with their bodies. Telling them that it isn’t healthy to workout hard or that their diet is imbalanced. The truth is that the majority of the people out there who are being so critical probably never step foot into a gym and breakfast for them consists of a Frappuccino and a danish. They are more than likely to have health issues of their own and very well may take the shape of the doughnut that they are eating.

Harsh as this may be, I feel that it’s a little out of line for those who “Don’t Do” to sit down and tell the rest of us how it should be done.  If it’s not interfering with the quality of your life or anyone else’s for that matter, then it should not even be in the conversation.

Diet and fitness are very personal to those of us who have invested a tremendous amount of our lives into being healthy and feeling good. We don’t do it to cause trouble. We do it because it works for us……and quite frankly….”It’s A Lifestyle.”

I encourage each and every one of you to find that lifestyle that works for you and you alone.  Find a nutritional program, a fitness routine, a job, friends, or whatever else it is that you need to do that works for you and makes you feel your best.

For me, I prefer to follow more of a cleansing type of diet. That doesn’t mean that I cleanse all the time. It means I eat a high fiber, gluten (and mostly grain) free diet, with lots of vegetables, lean proteins, and healthy fats.  It works for me. I stick to a 90/10 rule where there is some room for change up, but I seldom consume foods that I know will not make me feel my best or to please others.  I simply cannot order food or live a lifestyle to make others happy. Yes, we need to be flexible. But when you become too liberal to please others, you are no longer living your lifestyle.

So again, eat what makes you happy and keeps you at your best. Work your body out the way that makes you feel fit.  And forget what others are saying and doing. After all, they are only following their lifestyle too.

Image

2 thoughts on “It’s A Lifestyle, Dammit!!

  1. I love your blog. It is so uplifting and you say exactly what I think, feel, and believe. Thank you for that!!

Leave a Reply

