Kabocha Squash Pancakes

I have to say, I’m a stickler for routine. Especially when it comes to food. I have my basics that I stick to for breakfast….veggie omelets or oatmeal with protein powder. For lunch and dinner I stick with lots of salads, veggies, lean proteins, healthy fats, sweet potatoes, and the occasional serving of gluten free grain, like quinoa.

Occasionally you need to step out of the old and try something new. Spice it up a bit. Being surrounded with literally thousands of recipes…I’m a Pinterest Junkie…and having my fitness gal pals share their amazing recipes with me daily…can be quite tempting. Not only tempting, but necessary. Although we need consistency in our diets, we also need change. Our bodies will give us all sorts of signals that it’s time to move along and flirt with a new meal, a new diet entirely, or just add/subtract something minuscule.  The fact that there are so many diets out there, not only means that there is something for everyone, but that within each dietary plan, it can be tweaked to suite YOUR specific needs.

This breakfast came to me from a few sources. A couple of friends, and also some pins in Pinterest. It’s the perfect change up for a weekend breakfast or if you have the time, do it during the week….daily….like I have been the past couple of days **wink**

I tend to do really well on mostly a grain free diet. Definitely gluten free. And Dairy is completely out for me. So with a few tweaks and modifications, I finally found the pancake recipe that I’ve been looking for. Very similar to pumpkin pancakes, but a little more dense with the kabocha squash. It’s perfect if you follow a paleo diet, gluten free diet, or dairy free diet.

Image

Kabocha Squash Pancakes

  • 2 whole eggs
  • 2 egg whites
  • 1 cup kabocha squash peeled (I used my left over roasted squash)
  • 1 tbsp sifted coconut flour
  • 1 tbsp flax seed meal
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon (or more to taste)
  • a dash of powdered ginger
  • dash of stevia
  • 1/2 tsp gluten free baking powder (optional)

Mix all ingredients together in a blender or mini food processor until it forms a thick batter. If it’s a bit too thick for you, you can thin it out with a tbsp or two of almond/coconut milk or water (but the pancakes will need to cook longer due to moisture).

Distribute in a large pan or griddle to make 3 large pancakes. Cook for 4 minutes until the top forms a couple bubbles. Flip and cook another 3-4 minutes. (the Kabocha is dense, so these may take a little longer depending on your flame)

Cut into one to make sure it’s cooked all the way through.

I had mine with a little bit of coconut manna and a cup of strawberries.

Super delicious. Low Carb. High Fiber. And most importantly, DELICIOUS!!!!

Nutritional Breakdown: Without Strawberries and Manna

Cal.    286

Fat       14

Carbs   17

Fiber     12

Sugar     5

Protein   25

With the strawberries and manna the entire meal comes to 390 calories.

This kept me full for several hours with no blood sugar fluctuations. So it’s now going to be a staple in my breakfast routine. Personally I like to make my food fresh daily, but if time is an issue for you….make up a larger batter so you have some to grab and go during the week.

What about you? Do you tend to eat the same thing from day to do or are you good about rotating and getting more variety?  Share your thoughts. And if you happen to have some good gluten and dairy free breakfast recipes you’d like to share, I’m taking orders.

Enjoy!!

Tracy Lynn

Leave a Reply

